Weekend French toast

I’m pretty sure I’ve ranted before about the lack of places to go to for brunch where we are in England. Compared to the choice we had in Melbourne, this town is pretty dire. What we did try one Saturday morning is a chain restaurant called Bill’s. While Bill’s has the atmosphere of what a brunch place, the food itself was OK. My partner had the French toast and I the vegetarian breakfast stack with avocado, hummus and poached eggs. Just as he got though his French toast, my partner looked up and said – I’m sure you can make this a lot better!

Challenges like that never go unmet in our house. In many places, a breakfast order of French toast comes with a scoop of ice-cream in the centre but it was at  Cafe Arcadia in Melbourne that I first saw French toast being serves with yoghurt and a berry coulis and thought to myself – “Now there’s an idea worth stealing!”. Equipped with a challenge and a stolen idea from our former home, I set out to make the most delicious, yet slightly healthy French toast I ever did ( or so I thought). Turns out this isn’t the first time I tried to make French toast as in my folder of food photos, I found a whole lot more pictures of French toast as did I in my folder of photos from France.

The tastiest and most indulgent French toast is when a day old loaf of Brioche is used as the bread. However, I’ve gone for more generic bread that looked pretty. While slicing the bread, I sliced a little bit of my finger too and the bit of bread you find missing in the pictures are where my injury made itself obvious shall we say. Don’t be grossed out as indeed, the French toast was tasty and much better than Bill’s French toast. Though I will admit that their maple-flavoured syrup was tastier than my real maple syrup 🙂

Bon apetit!

French toast for breakfast anyone ?

French toast for breakfast anyone ?

Ingredients (Serves 2):

2 bread rolls or 4 slices of thick bread

2 little tubs of citrus yoghurt ( I used Sainsbury’s 4x125gms Greek Style Citrus yoghurt)

1/2 cup of blueberries

1/2 cup of sliced strawberries

2 eggs

1/2 cup of milk

Canadian maple syrup – as much as you like

20 gms of butter to cook

 

Method:

1. Whisk the eggs and milk in a shallow bowl and set aside (Pictures 1 & 2).

2. Slice the bread rolls through the middle and set aside (Picture 3).

3. Place a pan on medium heat. Using the tip of your spatula, scrape a thin sliver of butter off from its block and rub it on the surface of the warming pan. If the butter melts and sizzles immediately, you are good to go (Picture 4).

4. Dip each slice of bread in the egg mixture, turning the slice to coat both sides. The entire action should take a few seconds – otherwise, the bread will go really soggy (Picture 5).

5. Place the egg-dipped bread on the heated pan and cook both sides until they are brown. Remove the cooked toast onto a plate and repeat steps 3-5 for all remaining slices of bread (Pictures 6, 7 & 8).

6. Before serving, warm the cooked slices on the pan for 30 seconds on each side.

7. To serve, place the toast on a small plate and top generously with blueberries and sliced strawberries. Dollop the citrus yoghurt (I used lemon yoghurt) all over the berries. Finally drizzle as much maple syrup as your heart desires over the yoghurt and serve (Picture 9 and above).

Viola !  Now that I’ve described it to you, I want to go and make some !

 

Pictures:

French toast method

French toast method

 

 

Leave a Reply

