Chocolate orange mousse or Jaffa mousse

I haven’t posted recently and that’s because the English summer FINALLY made an appearance, if only for a week. So rather than my usual pose on the sofa with the laptop on my lap, I chose to spend it outside. I went for rambles (walks) with my partner and his parents, had lunch in the sun and sat in a park and read my book – all to soak in some sunshine and warmth. It was just lovely.

But today, predictably, the English clouds have set in and it’s windy and the right weather to start whinging all over again.As a result, I’m back inside, with my laptop for company. I also think, it is about time I wrote another blog. I promised I’d give you the recipe for chocolate orange souffle last time and here it is.

Chocolate orange is a flavour combination I’ve come to love. Here in England, you get a “Jaffa cakes” and mini jaffas which are choc-orange covered biscuits/little sponge biscuits. My partner loves them and I will occasionally have an indulgent bite or two. I have posted an easy choc-orange souffle recipe before and this one is mousse version of these lovely flavours. I saw a recipe for Chocolate orange Pots in the book “New Bistro” by Fran Warde (http://www.amazon.co.uk/New-Bistro-Fran-Warde/dp/1845333306). At the same time, I saw another book with a recipe for chocolate mousse. I thought to combine the two recipes to make Chocolate orange mousse.

Chocolate orange mousse in teacups

Ingredients:

300 gms dark chocolate, broken into bits

300 mls of thick cream

60 mls of warmed milk

50 grams of sugar

grated rind of 2 medium oranges

4 egg yolks

4 egg whites

Method:

1. Fill a small pot with water and heat on a medium flame/heat setting.

2. Whip the cream with a hand-held or electric whisk until stiff peaks are formed.

3. Beat egg yolks and sugar together until thick and creamy.

4. Whisk egg whites until they are fluffy and form stiff peaks.

5. Place the chocolate and orange rind in a heat proof bowl and place the bowl on the pot of heated water. The bottom of the bowl should not touch the water. The heat should come entirely from the steam.

6.  Turn the heat source off and using a spoon gently mix the chocolate until it melts. The end result should be a glossy, chocolate-y liquid with bits of orange rind uniformly spread through it. This should take a minute or 2 at the most.

7. Stick your finger into the chocolate and make sure it is at room temperature. When it is, fold the chocolate-orange mixture into the egg yolk-sugar mixture until it is uniformly mixed in.

8. Fold the whipped cream into the chocolate mixture from step 6 using a metal spoon.

9. Finally, fold the egg whites into the chocolate-cream mixture using a metal spoon.

10. Pour the mixture into small bowls or tea cups and chill for at least 3 hours and preferably overnight.

11. Serve with a couple of pieces of freshly chopped orange. Yummy!

Tips or mistakes to avoid:

1. I only had 200gms of chocolate but the recipe still worked well.

2. A “lost in translation” moment at the French supermarket left us with 3 tubs of light cream instead of thick whipping cream. Furthermore, all I had was a hand held whisk. I tried and tried but no amount of whisking thickened this light cream. Only sore arms resulted from this exercise. Once again, the recipe was forgiving and the mousse worked.

3. I whipped the egg whites first off. This was a mistake as they lost their stiffness soon after and I had to repeat the process. I have altered the recipe to account for this.

4. I melted the chocolate early on in the process, before any whipping so the chocolate thickened again by the time I got around to mix it into the yolky-sugary mixture. So we had little bits of chocolate in our mousse. We went for the “there is beauty in imperfection” message and enjoyed our not-so-mousse-y mouse. Once again, my recipe above gives you the right order of things (I hope).

Enjoy!

One thought on “Chocolate orange mousse or Jaffa mousse

  1. Pingback: Summer holiday series: 6. Quiche roquefort et poire (Pear and roquefort quiche) | Can We Have Some Rasam ?

Leave a Reply

