Quick dinner series: With olive bread and soft goat’s cheese

I think I have confessed before that I am a slow cook. Cooking relaxes me and is my unwind at the end of the working day and so I take my own sweet time at it. However, we all have those days when we just can’t be bothered and I’m no exception. I still like to pretend I’ve put some effort into my dinner and try and jazz up our dinners even if they are simple. Here I present one such pretence with olive bread and goat’s cheese. They were dinners on 2 consecutive days. Easy and tasty!

Please note: I love avocado (much to my partner’s dismay) and will throw it on everything I can but please don’t feel obliged to.

a. Toasted bread spread with goat’s cheese, topped with mushrooms sautéed with thyme and finished off with fresh tomatoes and avocado
b. Toasted bread spread with goat’s cheese, topped with a salad of tomatoes, olives, croutons, avocado, olive oil and lemon juice and served with fresh rocket.

Ingredients (see pictures – serves 2 for 2 days):

A loaf of Olive bread or any nice bread

100 gms of soft goat’s cheese like chevre

Day 1 – Picture (a) above:

4 large brown mushrooms ( I used portobello)

3 sprigs of thyme

freshly ground black pepper

5-6 vine-ripened tomatoes (optional)

1/2 an avocado (optional)

2 teaspoons of oil to cook mushrooms with

Day 2 – Picture (b) above:

5-6 vine-ripened tomatoes, quartered

1 avocado, chopped

handful of black olives

1/2 cup of ready-made salad croutons – I got the herb and spice ones

juice of 1 lemon

1 teaspoon of extra-virgin olive oil

Method (Ahem, mostly assembly): 

For (a) :

1. Sauté the mushrooms in the oil. As the moisture is almost gone, add the thyme and keep them on the heat for 2-3 minutes

2. Toast a couple of slices of bread and spread the goat’s cheese on top.

3. Top with the warm mushrooms, chopped tomatoes and avocadoes (Picture (a)).

4. Dinner is served

For (b):

1. In a mixing bowl toss the tomatoes, avocado, olives, croutons, lemon juice and olive oil.

2. Toast the bread and spread the cheese over it.

3. Top with salad and serve for dinner.


1. La Brea olive bread (or any nice olive bread) 2. Portobello mushrooms, avocado, vine-ripe tomatoes and thyme 3. Soft goat’s cheese – chevre like cheese

Leave a Reply

