Blueberry and raspberry scones

THIS RECIPE IS ADAPTED FROM BBC FOOD !!

Last week, I acquired a bottle of red gooseberry jam from a colleague at work. I’d never seen/heard of or tasted red gooseberry before. Growing up in India, I’d seen and bitten into green gooseberries with my childhood friends. These berries called “Nelli-kai” in Kannada would make us all screw our faces into a knot as the sourness stung the backs of our mouths. However, mum would turn them into a wonderfully spicy Indian pickle with chilli and mustard and fenugreek and that’s the only form I’d eaten and liked it in. I thought it was time to give this other kind of gooseberry a try.

Scones – ready to eat

Being in jam form, I thought it would go with some fresh scones. I’ve been meaning to try out a scone recipe and the jam was just the motivation I needed. I have made several modifications and I think the outcome was pretty good as we have none left as of this noon and I only made them at 10 this morning.

Source: http://www.bbcgoodfood.com/recipes/12347/easy-fluffy-scones

Ingredients:

2 and 1/2 cups of self-raising flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

100 gms cold butter

3 tablespoons sugar (white or brown)

1/2 cup greek-style yoghurt

1/4 cup milk

2 tablespoons vinegar

3/4 cup of mixed raspberries and blueberries

Changes:

1. I mixed the yoghurt, milk and vinegar (to add a bit of sourness to the yoghurt) but I forgot to heat it and the scones turned out just fine. If you don’t have any yoghurt, substitute it with 1/2 cup of milk. This time, microwave the milk and vinegar so it looks slightly curdled. An alternative to yoghurt/milk is buttermilk if you can find it in your local supermarket.

2. If eggs aren’t absolutely needed, I tend not to add them. I left the eggs out of this recipe an glazed the scones with leftover yoghurt.

3. Berries : Add the berries to the flour-butter mix and toss them in the flour until they are well coated. Berries being heavy tend to sink to the bottom of cakes/any baked goods. Coating them with flour absorbs the moisture that makes them heavy and ensures they are evenly spread through the cake/scone, not just at the bottom.

4. I left the vanilla essence out of the recipe as the berries added natural flavour to the scones.

5. I didn’t have a round cutter so I shaped the scones by hand.

6. I baked the scones for 20-22 minutes at 220ºC as they were large in size. Otherwise, 10-12 minutes will suffice. To check if your scone is done, check the underside of it. If the bottom and the top are both brown, they are ready to be eaten. Let them cool for a few minutes so that they aren’t sticky when you cut into them.

7. We ate these scones with the red gooseberry jam – the combination was great. I don’t like cream but I do like butter on my scones. In an effort to be healthy, I had them with margarine. It was a truly indulgent start to the weekend.

Potential mishaps:

1. Use fridge-cold not frozen butter. I tried to use frozen butter and my blender just couldn’t break it down.

2. Cut the butter into cubes as the recipe recommends. I was a bit dopey this morning and put big blocks into the blender and it struggled. I had to then pull the butter out and then chop it into smaller bits and then put it back in for a second time as I show in the pictures.

3. Don’t tip all the yoghurt in at once. I found that the dough turned very sticky and it was the yuckiest dough I’ve ever had to mix. I had to add another 1/2 cup of flour to be able to even gather the dough in my hands.

4.Try not to get carried away with the berries – I think I put in too many for the amount of dough I had and the made mixing the dough harder. I’ve adjusted the recipe to make this easier.

1. Fresh berries at the start of spring 2. Yoghurt-milk-vinegar mixture 3. Too big a blob of butter that had to cut into smaller pieces 4. Flour and butter blended until they resemble breadcrumbs 5. Tossing berries in flour 6. Adding the yoghurt to the flour mixture and cutting it in with a knife 7. Hand-shaped scone ready to go into the oven 8. Scones out of the oven 9. Saturday breakfast

Leave a Reply

