Quick and dirty bread and butter pudding

I’d never made bread and butter pudding until this point. So I did what most of us do and googled for a recipe. This was about 8:30 at night and my patience was running thin. Most recipes involved making custard from scratch. I have made custard from scratch before but have also been put off by its eggy-ness so I really wasn’t in the mood for it. Fortunately, what I did have was (1) a tub of shop-bought custard that had little specks of black which I assumed would be vanilla bean in origin (b) some stale hot-cross-buns that neither my partner nor I were going to eat (c) a well stocked spice pantry and (d) frozen berries. Hence was born the quick and dirty bread and butter pudding. My partner who is generally suspicious of any English food being tasty gave his seal of approval for this one. Oh, he hates the taste of butter so I skipped it and it tasted just fine.

Ingredients:

4 hot cross buns

500mL of vanilla custard

1 tsp of powdered nutmeg or mixed spice or cinnamon

a handful of raspberries

Method:

1. Cut the hot cross buns through the middle and then along the cross. You should have 8 cubes per bun. Peel the cross off as it might be quite sour as it was in our case and will ruin the taste of the final product.

2.Arrange half the cubes in a single layer on the base of a 6-7 inch  (15-18cms) round oven-proof bowl and pour half the custard over the layer. Sprinkle 1/2 the nutmeg over the custard.

3. Repeat step 2 to make a second bread and custard layer. Press down on the bread with the back of a spoon so all of it is covered by custard.

4. Bake at 180ºC for 40-45 minutes until the top layer of custard starts to bubble.

5. Serve with a sprinkling of raspberries that cut through the sweetness of the bread and custard.

Tip:

1. If you are vegan, you can make your own custard with custard powder and soy milk and use that instead of shop-bought custard.

2. Alternatively, you might be able to find some pre-made soy custard in your local supermarket or health foods store.

Potential for mishap:

As I said, all I had was frozen raspberries so I decided to microwave them for a bit before topping the pudding with them. Unfortunately, I went too far with the microwaving and the berries turned to pulp and stuck to the bowl. Perhaps just run them under warm water instead.

2 thoughts on “Quick and dirty bread and butter pudding

  1. Pingback: Bread, berry and cherry pudding | Can We Have Some Rasam ?

  2. Pingback: Bread, berry and cherry pudding

Leave a Reply

